Home Page

Foundation Stage

The EYFS Curriculum

The EYFS Curriculum, which precedes the National Curriculum for Key Stages 1-4 (5 to 16 years), consists of seven areas of learning - three Prime and four Specific:

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all other areas. They are:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development comprising of:
  • Making relationships
  • Self Confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

Communication and Language comprising of:
  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Physical Development comprising of:
  • Moving and handling (gross and fine motor)
  • Self Confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society. They are:

Mathematics comprising of:
  • Numbers
  • Shape, Space and Measures

Literacy comprising of:
  • Reading
  • Writing

Understanding the world comprising of:
  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive arts and design comprising of:
  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

At Whale Hill Primary School our planning includes all of these areas to ensure that our children receive a broad and balanced curriculum. We have a Long Term Plan for the year, Medium Term Plans planned around topics for each half term, and Short Term Plans for each week.